

### IHO File No. S1/6100/2020

### ASSEMBLY CIRCULAR LETTER N° 4 08 May 2019

### 2<sup>nd</sup> SESSION OF THE IHO ASSEMBLY (A-2)

**Monaco**, 21-24 April 2020

#### **INVITED OBSERVERS**

### References:

- A. General Regulations of the IHO, Article 4
- B. Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, Rule 5
- C. IHO Resolution 5/1957, as amended, IHO Relations with Other Organizations
- D. IHO Circular Letter 20/2019, dated 28 March The IHO Online Form System for Responses to Circular Letters and Input to IHO Publications (P-5 and C-55)
- E. Assembly Circular Letter No.1 dated 29 April 2019 Announcement and General Arrangements

### Dear Hydrographer,

- 1. In accordance with References A and B, the Secretary-General will issue invitations to Observers to attend the 2<sup>nd</sup> Session of the IHO Assembly (A-2) to be held from 21 to 24 April 2020 from:
  - a) States that are not Parties to the IHO Convention: one or two observers each, if proposed by a Member State, the Council or the Secretary-General, and subject to approval by two thirds of the Member States;
  - b) Member States with rights suspended under Article XV of the Convention, as implemented in accordance with Article 16 of the Financial Regulations: one or two observers each, one of whom should preferably be the head of the hydrographic office;
  - c) Inter-governmental organizations with which an agreement or special arrangement has been made: one or exceptionally two observers each; and
  - d) Non-governmental international organizations with which the Organization has established appropriate relationships in accordance with the Reference C resolution for the Accreditation of Non-governmental International Organizations: one or exceptionally two observers each.
- 2. The lists of Observers in the Annex was prepared according to the categories above, indicating the governments, intergovernmental organizations and non-governmental international organizations that are eligible to be invited to send Observers to the A-2.
- 3. Member States are invited to review the lists in the Annex and to provide their comments to the IHO Secretariat, if they wish, **before 20 July 2019**, preferably using the IHO Online Form System (see Reference D) by accessing the following link or by email (cl-lc@iho.int) or by fax (+377 93 10 81 40):

https://iho.formstack.com/forms/web form acl 04 2019

4. The Secretary-General will prepare the final lists of governments and organizations to be invited to A-2 and will submit the lists to Member States for approval as required by References A and B.

Yours sincerely,

Chathius Fur

Dr Mathias JONAS Secretary-General

Annex: Lists of non-IHO Member States, suspended IHO Member States,

Inter-governmental organizations, and Non-governmental international organizations.

# LISTS OF NON-IHO MEMBER STATES, SUSPENDED IHO MEMBER STATES, INTERGOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS, AND NON-GOVERNMENTAL INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS

### 1. List of governments that are not Parties to the Convention on the IHO

Afghanistan	Gambia	Niger
Albania	Ghana	Niue
Andorra	Grenada	Palau
Angola	Guinea	Panama
Antigua and Barbuda	Guinea-Bissau	Paraguay
Armenia	Haiti	Republic of Moldova
Austria	Holy See	Rwanda
Azerbaijan	Honduras	Saint Kitts and Nevis
Bahamas	Hungary	Saint Lucia
Barbados	Iraq	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Belarus	Israel	Samoa
Belize	Jordan	San Marino
Benin	Kazakhstan	Sao Tome and Principe
Bhutan	Kenya	Senegal
Bolivia (Plurinational State of)	Kiribati	Sierra Leone
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Kyrgyzstan	Slovakia
Botswana	Lao People's Democratic Republic	Solomon Islands
Burkina Faso	Lebanon	Somalia
Burundi	Lesotho	South Sudan
Cabo Verde	Liberia	State of Palestine
Cambodia	Libya	Sudan
Central African Republic	Liechtenstein	Swaziland
Chad	Lithuania	Switzerland
Comoros	Luxembourg	Tajikistan
Congo	Madagascar	North Macedonia
Cook Islands	Malawi	Timor-Leste
Costa Rica	Maldives	Togo
Côte d'Ivoire	Mali	Turkmenistan
Czech Republic	Marshall Islands	Tuvalu
Djibouti	Mauritania	Uganda
Dominica	Micronesia (Federated States of)	United Republic of Tanzania
El Salvador	Mongolia	Uzbekistan
Equatorial Guinea	Namibia	Yemen
Eritrea	Nauru	Zambia
Ethiopia	Nepal	Zimbabwe
Gabon	Nicaragua	

Note: this list is based on the list of UN Member States, UN Observer States and the two non-UN members (Niue and Cook Islands).

### 2. List of suspended Member States of the IHO

World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

Democratic Republic of the Congo   Serbia   Syrian Arab Republic	Democratic Republic of the Congo	Serbia	Syrian Arab Republic
--	----------------------------------	--------	----------------------

### 3. <u>List of intergovernmental organizations with which an agreement or special arrangement has</u> been made with IHO

Organization		
Association of Caribbean States (ACS)		
European Commission (EC) (Directorate General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries (DG MARE))		
Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC)		
nternational Maritime Organization (IMO)		
nternational Mobile Satellite Organization (IMSO)		
nternational Seabed Authority (ISA)		
Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)		
Maritime Organisation of West and Central Africa (MOWCA)		
Mediterranean Science Commission (CIESM)		
Pacific Community (SPC)		
Pan American Institute of Geography and History (PAIGH)		
Port Management Association of Western and Central Africa (PMAWCA)		
United Nations Organization (UN)		
- DOALOS		
- UNGGIM		

## 4. <u>List of Non-Governmental International Organizations with which the Organization has established appropriate relationships</u> (in accordance with IHO Resolution 5/1957)

Organization	
Association of Arctic Expedition Cruise Operators (AECO)	
Baltic and International Maritime Council (BIMCO)	
Chart & Nautical Instrument Trade Association (CNITA)	
Comité International Radio Maritime (CIRM)	
Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA)	
Defence Geospatial Information Working Group (DGIWG)	
East Asia Regional ENC Coordination Centre (EA-RECC)	
Inland ENC Harmonization Group (IEHG)	
Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology (IMarEST)	
International Association of Antarctic Tour Operators (IAATO)	

International Association of Geodesy (IAG)

International Association of Institutes of Navigation (IAIN)

International Association of Marine Aids to Navigation and Lighthouse Authorities (IALA)

International Association of Ports and Harbours (IAPH)

International Cable Protection Committee (ICPC)

International Cartographic Association (ICA)

International Centre for ENCs (IC - ENC)

International Chamber of Shipping (ICS)

International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)

International Federation of Hydrographic Societies (IFHS)

International Federation of Surveyors (FIG)

International Geographical Union (IGU)

International Harbour Masters' Association (IHMA)

International Maritime Pilots' Association (IMPA)

International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS)

International Association of Tank Owners (INTERTANKO)

Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC)

**PRIMAR** 

Professional Yachting Association (PYA)

Radio Technical Commission for Maritime Services (RTCM) Aeronautics

Radio Technical Commission for Aeronautics (RTCA)

Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR)

The Hydrographic Society of America (THSOA)

World Ocean Council (WOC)