

IHO File No. S1/6100/2020

## ASSEMBLY CIRCULAR LETTER N° 25 5 June 2020

# 2<sup>nd</sup> SESSION OF THE IHO ASSEMBLY (A-2) Monaco, 16-18 November 2020

#### RESULT OF THE ELECTION FOR THE POSITION OF IHO DIRECTOR

#### References:

- A. Assembly Circular Letter No. 20 dated 21 April 2020 *Election for the position of the IHO Director.*
- B. Assembly Circular Letter No. 18 dated 14 April 2020 Final List of The Candidates for the Position of IHO Director.
- C. Rules of Procedure of the Assembly.
- D. Assembly Circular Letter No. 17 dated 20 March 2020 *Proposed Scenario on the Postponement of A-2.*

#### Dear Hydrographer,

- 1. Following the procedures given in Reference A for the election for the position of IHO Director, the Secretariat, under the supervision of two Scrutineers kindly designated by the Principality of Monaco, conducted the merger and final counting of paper-based and electronic votes to elect an IHO Director from the candidates listed in Reference B on 5 June 2020.
- 2. The IHO Secretariat thanks the 81 out of 89 IHO Member States eligible for voting, who participated in the election. Out of 81 Member States, 75 voted electronically while 6 sent their paper ballots by mail to the Secretariat. All the votes were collected and processed on **1 June 2020** the final voting date.
- 3. On **5 June 2020**, in the presence of Mr Tidiani Couma and Mr Pierre Bouchet, the designated Scrutineers, the ballot box containing the sealed envelopes with folded paper ballots, was opened for counting. On the same occasion, the IHO Secretary-General decoded the number of electronic votes received for every candidate from the anonymous compilation spreadsheet table (See Annex A of Reference A). The Scrutineers combined all paper-based votes with all digital votes received after a double check that there was no unintended double voting.

4. The outcome of the counting procedure, confirmed by the Scrutineers (Rule 38 in Reference C), is as follows:

| Number of IHO Member States who voted                | 81  |
|--|-----|
| Number of electronic + paper ballots expected        | 334 |
| Number of valid (electronic, paper) votes received   | 334 |
| Number of invalid (electronic, paper) votes received | 0   |
| Number of abstentions                                | 0   |
| Final Number of valid votes retained                 | 334 |

5. The distribution of votes for the candidates are as follows (in alphabetical order):

| Captain (Ret) Alberto Pedrassani COSTA NEVES (Brazil) | 79  |
|---|-----|
| Rear Admiral Luigi SINAPI (Italy)                     | 144 |
| Rear Admiral Shepard M. SMITH (USA)                   | 111 |

- 6. The Secretariat expresses its deep appreciation for all three candidates and congratulates Rear Admiral Luigi SINAPI (Italy) for his election for the position of IHO Director.
- 7. The Secretariat looks forward to welcoming the elected IHO Director who will assume his new role on 1 September 2020 and invites him for a handover period with the outgoing IHO Director, which will be held in the last week of August and the first week of September 2020. The Secretary-General and the Directors will then decide jointly on the designation of the Work Programme items and other responsibilities allocated to the incoming IHO Director.
- 8. As a consequence, and in application of the principles stated in Reference D (paragraphs 14 and 28), *ex-post facto* approval of the result of the election for the position of IHO Director is deemed as to have been given by the Assembly.

### Decision No.1 of A-2, 2020 is

The Assembly, following a special voting procedure depicted in ACL 20/2020 and reported in ACL 25/2020, elected Rear Admiral Luigi SINAPI (Italy) to a post of Director for a term of office of six years starting on 1 September 2020.

9. The Secretariat thanks the Principality of Monaco for the nomination, the availability and the excellent work of the Scrutineers and expresses its satisfaction and gratitude to all Member States who first approved the adoption of this uncommon conduct of the election of the IHO Director and then voted so diligently.

Yours sincerely,

Chathius Fur

Dr Mathias JONAS Secretary-General