

## 2<sup>nd</sup> SESSION OF THE ASSEMBLY Monaco, 21-24 April 2020

## ENDORSEMENT OF THE SELECTION PROCESS FOR THE COUNCIL

Submitted by the Secretary-General

## **Background**

- 1. In accordance with the basic documents of the IHO that entered into force on 8 November 2016, a new Council must be established before the end of each ordinary session of the IHO Assembly. The new Council commences its work after the end of the session of the Assembly. The members of the new Council shall hold office until the end of the next ordinary session of the Assembly for three years.
- 2. In accordance with Article VI (a) of the IHO Convention as amended, 30 Member States shall take seats in the Council as long as the number of Member States is not greater than 120.
- 3. The procedure for determining the composition of the Council are set out in Article 16 of the General Regulations. This article requires in particular that:
  - (d) Before the end of the ordinary session the Secretary-General shall submit the full list of Council members to the Assembly.
  - (e) The Assembly shall review and endorse the selection process to ensure that these principles have been correctly followed.

## Selection process

- 4. A first set of 20 seats shall be allocated on a regional basis. In accordance with the principles of the guidance agreed through Decision 6 of the 5<sup>th</sup> Extraordinary International Hydrographic Conference, IHO Circular Letter (CL) 33/2019 dated 30 June invited Member States which were full members of more than one Regional Hydrographic Commission (RHC) to indicate in which RHC they wished to be counted for the purpose of enabling the Secretary-General to determine the number of seats on the Council allocated to each RHC. The allocation was reported in IHO CL 52/2019 dated 23 October 2019 which invited the Chairs of RHCs to provide the identity of the State(s) that will occupy the seat(s) allocated to their RHC.
- 5. In accordance with sub-paragraph (b) (vi) of Article 16 of the General Regulations, the Secretary-General ensured that the outcome was not affected by any new States becoming members of the IHO up to 3 months before the beginning of the 2<sup>nd</sup> session of the Assembly, that is before 21 January 2020.
- 6. Table 1 provides the resultant distribution of the 20 seats on the Council allocated to the RHCs and those States that are eligible to be selected to occupy those seats. RHCs are to communicate to the Secretary-General the identity of the State(s) selected to occupy the seat(s) allocated to each RHC.

Table 1 Council Seats Allocated to the RHCs

	Member States (MS) eligible to occupy	Number of MS	
Dogional	one of the 20 Council seat(s) allocated	to be counted in	Number of
Regional	to the RHCs `	the calculation	Council
Hydrographic Commission	(MS that are Members of more than one	of the number	seats
(RHC)	RHC shown in <b>bold</b> )	of seats on a	allocated to
()	(MS whose rights are suspended shown	proportional	the RHC
	in <del>strikethrough</del> ) Algeria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus,	basis	
MBSHC	France, Georgia, Greece, Italy, Malta,		
	Monaco, Montenegro, Romania, <del>Serbia</del> ,	17	3
	Slovenia, <b>Spain</b> , <del>Syrian Arab Republic</del> ,		
	Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine.		
MACHC	Brazil, Cuba, Dominican Republic,		
	Guatemala, Guyana, Jamaica, Mexico,	11	2
	Netherlands, Suriname, Trinidad and		_
	Tobago, Venezuela.  Brunei Darussalam, China, Democratic		
	People's Republic of Korea, <b>Indonesia</b> ,		
EAHC	Japan, Malaysia, Philippines, Republic	10	2
	of Korea, Singapore, <b>Thailand</b>		
	Bahrain, Iran (Islamic Rep. of), Kuwait,		
RSAHC	Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia,	8	2
	United Arab Emirates		
SWPHC	Australia, Fiji, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Is., Tonga,	8	1
SWPHC	USA, <del>Vanuatu</del>	0	l
NII 0 1 1 0	Bangladesh, <b>Egypt</b> , India, Myanmar, Sri	_	_
NIOHC	Lanka	5	1
SAIHC	Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles,	5	1
OAII IO	South Africa, United Kingdom	<u> </u>	1
EAtHC	Cameroon, <b>Morocco</b> , Nigeria, Portugal	4	1
NSHC	Belgium, <b>Germany</b> , <b>Iceland</b> , Ireland	4	1
BSHC	Estonia, Latvia, Poland, <b>Sweden</b>	4	1
SEPRHC	Chile, <b>Colombia</b> , Ecuador, Peru	4	1
ARHC	Denmark, Norway, Russian Federation	3	1
SWAtHC	Argentina, Uruguay	2	1
NHC	Finland	1	1
USCHC	Canada	1	1
	Total for Council Distribution	87	20

Notes:	Democratic Republic of the Congo,     Ghana and Viet Nam are not listed as     they are not Members of RHCs	3
	<ol><li>Serbia, Syrian Arab Republic and Vanuatu are listed but not counted as they are suspended.</li></ol>	
	Grand total	93

- 7. The remaining 10 seats on the IHO Council are to be allocated to Member States that have not already been selected to occupy a seat allocated on a regional basis. These 10 seats will be allocated on the basis of hydrographic interests, which under the current regulation is defined as national flag tonnage. In accordance with Article 6 (a) of the Financial Regulation, the Secretary-General refers to the table of tonnages that had entered into force on 1 January 2018 (Annex A to ACL 08/219 refers) and will approach each Member State on the list which has not already been selected to occupy a seat by the RHCs, in turn and in order of highest tonnage, inviting the State to declare if it wishes to take up one of the 10 seats. The process continues until all 10 seats are filled.
- 8. The full allocation process of Council seats will be finalized under agenda item 10 of A-2 (doc. A2\_2020\_G\_01\_EN) when the document A2\_2020\_G\_07\_EN will be produced and approved.