



IHO File No. S1/6100/2023

ASSEMBLY CIRCULAR LETTER N° 4/Rev1 16 May 2022

# 3<sup>rd</sup> SESSION OF THE IHO ASSEMBLY (A-3)

### Monaco, NEW DATE: 2-5 May 2023

#### OBSERVERS AT THE 3<sup>rd</sup> SESSION OF THE IHO ASSEMBLY

#### References:

- A. General Regulations of the IHO, Article 4
- B. Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, Rule 5
- C. IHO Resolution 5/1957, as amended, IHO Relations with Other Organizations
- D. Assembly Circular Letter No.1 dated/Rev1 dated 28 April 2022 Announcement and General Arrangements.

Dear Hydrographer,

1. In accordance with References A and B, the Secretary-General will issue invitations to Observers to attend the 3<sup>rd</sup> Session of the IHO Assembly (A-3) to be held from Tuesday 2 May to Friday 5 May 2023 for:

- a) States that are not Parties to the IHO Convention: one or two observers each, if proposed by a Member State, the Council or the Secretary-General, and subject to approval by two thirds of the Member States;
- b) Member States with rights suspended under Article XV of the Convention, as implemented in accordance with Article 16 of the Financial Regulations: one or two observers each, one of whom should preferably be the head of the hydrographic office;
- c) Inter-governmental organizations with which an agreement or special arrangement has been made: one or exceptionally two observers each; and
- d) Non-governmental international organizations with which the Organization has established appropriate relationships in accordance with Reference C, Resolution for the Accreditation of Non-governmental International Organizations: one or exceptionally two observers each.

2. The lists of Observers in the Annex was prepared according to the categories above, indicating the governments, intergovernmental organizations and non-governmental international organizations that are eligible to be invited to send Observers to the A-3.

3. Member States are invited to review the lists in the Annex and to provide their comments to the IHO Secretariat, **not later than 25 July 2022**, by email (<u>info@iho.int</u>) or by fax (+377 93 10 81 40).

## iho.int

Hydrography contributing to the UN Ocean Decade 4b, quai Antoine I" B.P. 445 MC 98011 MONACO CEDEX PRINCIPALITY OF MONACO Tel. : +377 93 10 81 00 Fax : +377 93 10 81 40 e-mail : info@iho.int Web : www.iho.int 4. The Secretary-General will prepare the final lists of governments and organizations to be invited to A-3 and will submit the lists to Member States for approval, in accordance with the deadline stated in Annex B of Reference D.

Yours sincerely,

Chathiers From

Dr Mathias JONAS Secretary-General

<u>Annex</u>: Lists of non-IHO Member States, suspended IHO Member States, Inter-governmental organizations, and Non-governmental international organizations.

### LISTS OF NON-IHO MEMBER STATES, SUSPENDED IHO MEMBER STATES, INTERGOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS, AND NON-GOVERNMENTAL INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS

Afghanistan	Gabon	Niger
Andorra	Gambia	Niue
Antigua and Barbuda	Grenada	Palau
Armenia	Guinea	Panama
Austria	Guinea-Bissau	Paraguay
Azerbaijan	Haiti	Republic of Moldova
Bahamas	Holy See	Rwanda
Barbados	Honduras	Saint Kitts and Nevis
Belarus	Hungary	Saint Lucia
Belize	Israel	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Benin	Jordan	San Marino
Bhutan	Kazakhstan	Sao Tome and Principe
Bolivia (Plurinational State of)	Kiribati	Senegal
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Kyrgyzstan	Sierra Leone
Botswana	Republic Lao People's Democratic	Slovakia
Burkina Faso	Lesotho	Somalia
Burundi	Liberia	South Sudan
Cabo Verde	Libya	State of Palestine
Cambodia	Liechtenstein	Sudan
Central African Republic	Lithuania	Swaziland
Chad	Luxembourg	Switzerland
Comoros	Madagascar	Tajikistan
Congo	Malawi	North Macedonia
Cook Islands	Maldives	Timor-Leste
Costa Rica	Mali	Тодо
Côte d'Ivoire	Marshall Islands	Turkmenistan
Czech Republic	Mauritania	Tuvalu
Djibouti	Micronesia (Federated States of)	Uganda
Dominica	Mongolia	United Republic of Tanzania
El Salvador	Namibia	Uzbekistan
Equatorial Guinea	Nauru	Yemen
Eritrea	Nepal	Zambia
Ethiopia	Nicaragua	Zimbabwe

#### 1. List of governments that are not Parties to the Convention on the IHO

Note: this list is based on the list of UN Member States, UN Observer States and the two non-UN members (Niue and Cook Islands).

# 2. List of suspended Member States of the IHO

Serbia Syrian Arab Republic	Vanuatu
-----------------------------	---------

# 3. <u>List of intergovernmental organizations with which an agreement or special</u> <u>arrangement has been made with IHO</u>

Association of Caribbean States (ACS)
European Commission (EC) (Directorate General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries (DG
Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC)
International Maritime Organization (IMO)
International Mobile Satellite Organization (IMSO)
International Seabed Authority (ISA)
Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)
Maritime Organisation of West and Central Africa (MOWCA)
Mediterranean Science Commission (CIESM)
Pacific Community (SPC)
Pan American Institute of Geography and History (PAIGH)
Port Management Association of Western and Central Africa (PMAWCA)
United Nations Organization (UN)
- DOALOS
- UNGGIM
World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

# 4. <u>List of Non-Governmental International Organizations with which the</u> <u>Organization has established appropriate relationships</u> (in accordance with IHO Resolution 5/1957)

Association of Arctic Expedition Cruise Operators (AECO)

Baltic and International Maritime Council (BIMCO)

Chart & Nautical Instrument Trade Association (CNITA)

Comité International Radio Maritime (CIRM)

Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA)

Defence Geospatial Information Working Group (DGIWG)

Inland ENC Harmonization Group (IEHG)

Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology (IMarEST)

International Association of Antarctic Tour Operators (IAATO)

International Association of Geodesy (IAG)

International Association of Institutes of Navigation (IAIN)

International Association of Marine Aids to Navigation and Lighthouse Authorities (IALA)

International Association of Ports and Harbours (IAPH)

International Cable Protection Committee (ICPC)
International Cartographic Association (ICA)
International Centre for ENCs (IC - ENC)
International Chamber of Shipping (ICS)
International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
International Federation of Hydrographic Societies (IFHS)
International Federation of Surveyors (FIG)
International Geographical Union (IGU)
International Harbour Masters' Association (IHMA)
International Maritime Pilots' Association (IMPA)
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS)
International Association of Tank Owners (INTERTANKO)
Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC)
PRIMAR
Professional Yachting Association (PYA)
Radio Technical Commission for Maritime Services (RTCM) Aeronautics
Radio Technical Commission for Aeronautics (RTCA)
Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR)
The Association of Artic Expedition Cruise Operators (AECO)
The Hydrographic Society of America (THSOA)
World Ocean Council (WOC)