INTERNATIONAL HYDROGRAPHIC ORGANIZATION



ORGANISATION HYDROGRAPHIQUE INTERNATIONALE

IHO File No. S3/2630

CIRCULAR LETTER 21/2019 24 April 2019

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC) NEW IHO REPRESENTATIVES

References:

- A. IHO CL 59/2018 dated 13 December GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) Membership-Request for Nomination of Experts to Fill Vacancies
- B. GGC Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedures

Dear Hydrographer,

1. The IHO Secretariat informed Member States via Reference A about the vacancies on the IHO-IOC GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) and requested nominations of experts to fill the two IHO positions. In response to the Reference A, the IHO Secretariat has received seven nominations to fill the vacant IHO positions on the GEBCO Guiding Committee. The seven nominations were:

Mr Rodrigo de Souza Obino (Brazil) Dr Boris Dorschel (Germany) Mr Tribhuvan Singh (India) Mt Jung Hyun Kim (Korea) Ms Liva Goba (Latvia) Mr Evert Flier (Norway) Mr Dennis Arsenio B. Bringas (Philippines)

2. The IHO Secretariat is pleased to see the significant interest in the GEBCO Guiding Committee and expresses its gratitude to the Member States who all nominated suitably-qualified candidates.

3. Following previous practice, the candidates' curricula vitae were reviewed thoroughly by the IHO Secretariat. In accordance with Reference B, relevant consultation has been undertaken with the GGC Chair, Mr Shin Tani. Taking into account the criteria for selection and relevant expertise, past and current contribution to ocean mapping activities, current roles and responsibilities in their national institutions and potential impact and input to the GEBCO project, geographical distribution of the current GGC members (as far as possible); the IHO Secretariat, sought the consent of those Member States who provided candidates, for the selection of **Mr Evert Flier** and **Mr Rodrigo de Souza Obino** to fill the vacant IHO positions on the GGC for the period 2019-2024.

4. The IHO Secretariat is pleased to report that the majority of those Member States that nominated candidates, have agreed to the selection of Mr Evert Flier and Mr Rodrigo de Souza Obino and no objection has been received. The IHO Secretariat would like to thank them for their support.

5. Unless an objection is raised by a Member State, the selection of Mr Evert Flier will be effective from 20 May 2019 and the selection of Mr Rodrigo de Souza Obino will be effective from 9 November 2019 (completion of the 36th GGC meeting). The new updated membership list of GGC, which is anticipated to be effective from 20 May 2019, is provided at the Annex. A further revised list will be published on completion of GGC36.

On behalf of the Secretary-General, Yours sincerely,

Mustafa IPTES Director

Hydrographic information driving marine knowledge

Copy to: The IOC Secretariat of the UNESCO Chair, GEBCO Guiding Committee

Annex: List of GEBCO Guiding Committee Members as of 20 May 2019.

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC) Membership

Intended list of GGC Members as of 20 May 2019

1.	IHO Appointed Members: Mr Shin Tani* (Japan) (<i>Chair</i>) Dr Hyo Hyun Sung* (Republic of Korea) Dr Graham Allen (United Kingdom) Mr David Millar (USA) Mr Evert Flier (Norway)	Term Period: (2018-2023) (2014-2019) (2015-2020) (2018-2023) (2019-2024)
2.	IOC Appointed Members: Dr Marzia Rovere (Italy) Dr Johnathan Kool (Australia) Captain Leonid Shalnov (Russian Federation) Dr Martin Jakobsson (Sweden) (<i>Vice-chair</i>) Lieutenant Dr Karolina Zwolak (Poland)	(2014-2019) (2016-2021) (2016-2021) (2018-2023) (2018-2023)

3. Ex-officio Members:

Dr Vicki Ferrini (USA) (*Chair of SCRUM*) Mr Thierry Schmitt (France) (*Chair of TSCOM*) Mr Hyun-Chul Han (Republic of Korea) (*Chair of SCUFN*) Dr Hyo Hyun Sung (Republic of Korea) (*Chair of SCOPE*) Ms Jennifer Jencks (USA) (*Director of IHO-DCDB*)

* Members serving a second 5-year term.

4. Secretary:

Mr David Wyatt (IHO)

(2015-2019)

NOTE: Members of the Secretariats of the IHO and IOC are permanent non-voting Members in the Committee.