

IHO File No. S3/2641

CIRCULAR LETTER 17/2020 11 May 2020

GEBCO SUB-COMMITTEE ON UNDERSEA FEATURE NAMES (SCUFN) - APPOINTMENT OF NEW MEMBERS

References:

- A. IHO CL 02/2020 dated 10 January GEBCO SCUFN, Vacancy for an IHO Representative.
- B. IHO CL 07/2020 dated 20 January GEBCO SCUFN, Additional Vacancy for an IHO Representative.
- C. SCUFN Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedures (SCUFN TORs and ROPs).

Dear Hydrographer,

1. In response to Reference A and B, the IHO Secretariat received seven nominations to fill the two vacant IHO positions on the GEBCO Sub-Committee on Undersea Feature Names (SCUFN). The seven nominations were:

Prof Millard COFFIN (Australia)

Lt Lorena SAMPAIO (Brazil)

Dr Marie-Françoise LEQUENTREC-LALANCETTE (France)

Cdr Amit PANT (India)

Mr Devendra MADHOW (Mauritius)

Mr Roshan Ranaweera (Sri Lanka)

Cdr Nguyen Dinh Hai (Viet Nam)

- 2. The IHO Secretariat is pleased to see such a significant interest in the SCUFN and expresses its gratitude to the Member States who all nominated well-qualified candidates.
- 3. Following previous practice, the Curricula Vitae of the candidates were reviewed carefully by the IHO Secretariat and the Chair of the SCUFN, Dr Hyun-Chul HAN. Taking into account the selection criteria listed in Reference A and B, background, experience, expertise, academic achievements, current roles in naming and potential contribution to the SCUFN activities, geographic distribution of the current SCUFN members (as far as possible) and possible support of the candidates for attending the future SCUFN meetings by nominating States; the IHO Secretariat (Secretary-General and Directors), with the agreement of the Chair of the SCUFN, unanimously agreed on the selection of the following candidates:

Prof Millard COFFIN (Australia) Dr Marie-Françoise LEQUENTREC-LALANCETTE (France)

- 4. After consultation with the IOC Secretariat in accordance with Reference C (Article 2.1.1), the IHO Secretariat is pleased to report that no objection has been received with regard to the selections of Prof COFFIN and Dr LEQUENTREC-LALANCETTE. The Secretariat is grateful to the Member States who nominated candidates for SCUFN and wishes to congratulate the new members of SCUFN representing the IHO for the period of 2020-2025. The appointments of the new SCUFN members is effective immediately.
- 5. It is also reminded that the selected experts are expected to be supported and funded by their respective national organizations to attend the SCUFN Meetings (Reference C).



Tel.: +377 93 10 81 00

Fax: +377 93 10 81 40

e-mail: info@iho.int

Web: www.iho.int

6. The updated List of SCUFN Members as of 11 May 2020 is provided in Annex-A.

On behalf of the Secretary-General Yours sincerely,

Mustafa IPTES IHO Director

Copy: The IOC Secretariat of the UNESCO Dr Hyun-Chul HAN, SCUFN Chair

Annex-A: Updated List of SCUFN Members as of 11 May 2020.

UPDATED LIST OF SCUFN MEMBERS

(as of 11 May 2020)

IOC Parent Organization	IHO Parent Organization
Dr Hyun-Chul HAN (Chair, ROK)	Dr Yasuhiko OHARA (Vice-Chair, Japan)
Mr Félix FRÍAS IBARRA (Mexico)	Prof. Roberta IVALDI (Italy)
Mr Kevin MACKAY (New Zealand)	First Admiral Dr. Najhan MD SAID (Malaysia)
Dr Sihai LI (China)	Mr. Trent PALMER (USA)
Mr Amon KIMELI (Kenya)	Prof. Millard COFFIN (Australia)
Captain Aleksandr ALEKSEEV (Russian Federation)	Dr. Marie-Françoise LEQUENTREC-LALANCETTE (France)