



IHO File No. S3/2630

CIRCULAR LETTER 24/2020 25 June 2020

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC) NEW IHO REPRESENTATIVE

References:

- A. IHO CL 14/2020 dated 13 March GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) Membership-Request for Nomination of an Expert to Fill Vacancy
- B. GGC Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedures

Dear Hydrographer,

- 1. The IHO Secretariat informed Member States via Reference A about the vacancy on the IHO-IOC GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) and requested nominations of experts to fill the IHO position. In response to the Reference A, the IHO Secretariat received three nominations to fill the vacant IHO position on the GEBCO Guiding Committee. The three nominations were:
 - Captain Lukman Hanafiah Azamar OMAR (Malaysia)
 - Mr George SPOELSTRA (Netherlands)
 - Mr Samuel HARPER (United Kingdom)
- 2. The IHO Secretariat is pleased to see the significant interest in the GEBCO Guiding Committee and expresses its gratitude to the Member States who all nominated suitably-qualified candidates.
- 3. Following previous practice, the candidates' curricula vitae were reviewed thoroughly by the IHO Secretariat. In accordance with Reference B, relevant consultation has been undertaken with the GGC Chair. Taking into account the criteria for selection and relevant expertise, past and current contribution to ocean mapping activities, current roles and responsibilities in their national institutions and potential impact and input to the GEBCO project, geographical distribution of the current GGC members (as far as possible) and possible support of the candidate for attending the future GGC meetings by the nominating State; the IHO Secretariat (Secretary-General and Directors) agreed on the selection of Mr Samuel HARPER to fill the vacant IHO position on the GGC for the period 2020-2025.
- 4. Unless an objection is raised by a Member State, the selection of Mr Samuel Harper will be effective from 01 August 2020. The new updated membership list of the GGC, which is expected to be effective from 01 August 2020, is provided at the Annex-A.

On behalf of the Secretary-General, Yours sincerely,

> Mustafa IPTES Director

Copy to: The IOC Secretariat of the UNESCO

Chair, GEBCO Guiding Committee

Annex: List of GEBCO Guiding Committee Members as of 01 August 2020.



Tel.: +377 93 10 81 00

Fax: +377 93 10 81 40

e-mail: info@iho.int

Web: www.iho.int

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC) Membership

Intended list of GGC Members as of 01 August 2020

1.	IHO Appointed Members: Period:	Term
	Mr Shin Tani* (Japan) (Chair) Mr David Millar (USA) Mr Evert Flier (Norway)	(2018-2023) (2018-2023)
	(2019-2024) Captain Rodrigo de Souza Obino (Brazil) Mr Samuel Harper (UK) (2020-2025)	(2019-2024)
2.	IOC Appointed Members: Dr Marzia Rovere (Italy) * Dr Johnathan Kool (Australia) Captain Leonid Shalnov (Russian Federation) (2016-2021)	(2014-2019) (2016-2021)
	Dr Martin Jakobsson (Sweden) (Vice-chair) Lieutenant Dr Karolina Zwolak (Poland)	(2018-2023) (2018-2023)
3.	Ex-officio Members:	

Dr Vicki Ferrini (USA) (Chair of SCRUM)
Mr Thierry Schmitt (France) (Chair of TSCOM)
Mr Hyun-Chul Han (Republic of Korea) (Chair of SCUFN)
Dr Hyo Hyun Sung (Republic of Korea) (Chair of SCOPE)
Ms Jennifer Jencks (USA) (Director of IHO-DCDB)

4. Secretary:

Mr David Wyatt (IHO) (2015-2020)

NOTE: Members of the Secretariats of the IHO and IOC are permanent non-voting Members in the Committee.

^{*} Members serving a second 5-year term.