



IHO File No. S3/2630

CIRCULAR LETTER 29/2021 27 July 2021

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC) NEW IHO REPRESENTATIVE

References:

- A. IHO CL 17/2021 dated 20 April GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) Membership-Request for Nomination of an Expert to Fill Vacancy
- B. GGC Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedures

Dear Hydrographer,

- 1. Reference A informed Member States about the vacancy on the IHO-IOC GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) and requested nominations of experts to fill the IHO position. In response the IHO Secretariat received five nominations to fill the vacant IHO position on the GEBCO Guiding Committee. The five nominations were:
 - Captain Nattuva DHEERAJ (India)
 - Dr Eunmi CHANG (Republic of Korea)
 - Mr George SPOELSTRA (Netherlands)
 - Dr Geoffroy LAMARCHE (New Zealand)
 - Mr Ian DAVIES (United Kingdom)
- 2. The IHO Secretariat is pleased to see the significant interest in the GEBCO Guiding Committee and expresses its gratitude to the Member States who all nominated suitably-qualified candidates.
- 3. Following previous practice, the candidates' curricula vitae were reviewed thoroughly by the IHO Secretariat. In accordance with Reference B, relevant consultation has been undertaken with the GGC Chair. Taking into account the criteria for selection and relevant expertise, past and current contribution to ocean mapping activities, current roles and responsibilities in their national institutions and potential impact and input to the GEBCO project and geographical distribution of the current GGC members, the IHO Secretariat (Secretary-General and Directors) agreed on the selection of Dr Geoffroy LAMARCHE to fill the vacant IHO position on the GGC for the period 2021-2026.
- 4. Unless an objection is raised by a Member State, the selection of Dr Geoffroy Lamarche will be effective from 30 September 2021. The new updated membership list of the GGC, which is expected to be effective from 30 September 2021, is provided at the Annex.

On behalf of the Secretary-General Yours sincerely,

Luigi SINAPI IHO Director

Tel.: +377 93 10 81 00

Fax: +377 93 10 81 40

e-mail: info@iho.int

Web: www.iho.int

Copy to: The IOC Secretariat of the UNESCO

Chair, GEBCO Guiding Committee

Annex: List of GEBCO Guiding Committee Members as of 30 September 2021.

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC) Membership

Intended list of GGC Members as of 30 September 2021

embers:	Term Period:
an)	(2018-2023)
SA)	(2018-2023)
vay) (<mark>Chair</mark>)	(2019-2024)
Souza Obino (Brazil)	(2019-2024)
che (New Zealand)	(2021-2026)
embers:	
Italy) *(Vice-chair)	(2019-2024)
n (Sweden)	(2018-2023)
lina Zwolak (Poland)	(2018-2023)
stralia)	(2021-2026)
ant Srivastava (India)	(2021-2026)
	SA) way) (Chair) s Souza Obino (Brazil) che (New Zealand) embers: Italy) *(Vice-chair) on (Sweden) lina Zwolak (Poland) estralia)

3. Ex-officio Members:

Dr Vicki Ferrini (USA) (Chair of SCRUM)

Mr Thierry Schmitt (France) (Chair of TSCOM)

Mr Hyun-Chul Han (Republic of Korea) (Chair of SCUFN)

Dr Eunmi Chang (Republic of Korea) (Acting Chair of SCOPE)

Ms Jennifer Jencks (USA) (Director of IHO-DCDB)

4. Secretary:

Mr Samuel Harper (IHO) (2021-2026)

NOTE: Members of the Secretariats of the IHO and IOC are permanent non-voting Members in the Committee.

^{*} Members serving a second 5-year term.