

IHO File No. S3/2641

CIRCULAR LETTER 30/2022 25 July 2022

GEBCO SUB-COMMITTEE ON UNDERSEA FEATURE NAMES (SCUFN) - APPOINTMENT OF NEW MEMBER

References:

- A. IHO CL 17/2022 dated 11 May 2022 GEBCO SCUFN Request for nomination of an expert to fill a vacancy.
- B. SCUFN Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure.
- C. IOC Letter No 2895 dated 29 June 2022 Appointment of two new IOC-affiliated members to the GEBCO SCUFN.

Dear Hydrographer,

1. In response to Reference A, the IHO Secretariat received five nominations to fill the vacant IHO position on the GEBCO Sub-Committee on Undersea Feature Names (SCUFN). The five nominations were:

Lt Cdr Rocío del Valle BORJAS (Argentina) Cdr (Ret.) Felipe BARRIOS (Chile) CaptainTribhuvan SINGH (India) Captain Dr. Oke DWIYANA Pribadi (Indonesia) Captain Anom HASCARYO (Indonesia)

- 2. The IHO Secretariat expresses its gratitude to the Member States who nominated very well-qualified candidates.
- 3. Following previous practice, the applications were reviewed carefully by the IHO Secretariat and the Chair of the SCUFN, Dr Hyun-Chul HAN. Taking into account the selection criteria listed in Reference A, and the need to find the right balance in the composition of SCUFN, the IHO Secretariat, with the agreement of the Chair of the SCUFN, unanimously agreed on the selection of the following candidate:

Captain Dr. Oke DWIYANA Pribadi (Indonesia)

- 4. After consultation with the IOC Secretariat in accordance with Reference C (Article 2.1.1), the IHO Secretariat is pleased to report that no objection has been received with regard to the selection of Captain Dr. Oke DWIYANA Pribadi (Pushidrosal, Indonesia). The Secretariat is grateful to the Member States who nominated candidates for SCUFN and wishes to congratulate Captain Dr. Oke DWIYANA Pribadi as new member of SCUFN, representing the IHO for the period of 2022-2026.
- 5. The appointment of Captain Dr. Oke DWIYANA Pribadi, as SCUFN member, will become effective at the end of the next SCUFN meeting (SCUFN35.2, November 2022) when Dr Marie-Françoise LEQUENTREC-LALANCETTE (Shom, France) steps down from her position. However, Captain Dr. Oke DWIYANA Pribadi is invited to prepare and participate in this forthcoming meeting as an Observer (Reference A, paragraph 6 refers).

Tel.: +377 93 10 81 00

Fax: +377 93 10 81 40

e-mail: info@iho.int

Web ; www.iho.int

6. Noting the recent nominations by the IOC (Reference C), the updated List of SCUFN Members as of 25 July 2022 is provided in Annex A.

On behalf of the Secretary-General Yours sincerely,

Luigi SINAPI Director

Annex A: SCUFN Membership List

Copy: SCUFN Chair, SCUFN Vice-Chair, IOC Secretariat.

SCUFN Membership List (as of 25 July 2022)

IOC Parent Organization	IHO Parent Organization
Dr Hyun-Chul HAN (Chair, Republic of Korea)	Dr Yasuhiko OHARA (Vice-Chair, Japan)
Mr Félix FRÍAS IBARRA (Mexico)	Prof. Roberta IVALDI (Italy)
Mr Kevin MACKAY (New Zealand)	First Admiral Dr. Najhan MD SAID (Malaysia)
Dr Sihai LI (China)	Mr Trent PALMER (USA)
Dr Amon KIMELI (Kenya)	Prof. Millard F COFFIN (Australia)
Ms Lorena da FONSECA SAMPAIO (Brazil)	Dr Marie-Françoise LEQUENTREC- LALANCETTE (France)

For information only, SCUFN Membership List to become effective at the end of the SCUFN35.2 meeting, November 2022.

IOC Parent Organization	IHO Parent Organization
Mr Félix FRÍAS IBARRA (Mexico)	Dr Yasuhiko OHARA (Acting Chair, Japan)
Mr Kevin MACKAY (New Zealand)	Prof. Roberta IVALDI (Italy)
Dr Sihai LI (China)	First Admiral Dr. Najhan MD SAID (Malaysia)
Dr Amon KIMELI (Kenya)	Mr Trent PALMER (USA)
Ms Lorena da FONSECA SAMPAIO (Brazil)	Prof. Millard F COFFIN (Australia)
Dr Hyun Suk LEE (Republic of Korea)	Captain Dr. Oke DWIYANA Pribadi (Indonesia)