GGC35/9 7 August 2018

GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Submitted by IHO Secretariat

SUMMARY

Executive Summary: This document provides an update on current membership of the GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC), including current or forthcoming vacancies, and suggests additional organizations, which could be represented in the GGC.

Action to be taken: 6

Related documents: GGC ToRs and ROPs

- 1. The current list of GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) members is at Annex A.
- 2. As a result of the retirement of Captain Norhizam Hassan from the Royal Malaysian Navy in September and his subsequent resignation from the GGC at GGC34, the IHO appointed Mr David Millar, USA) to fill the vacancy.
- 3. Two IOC vacancies were created by the completion of second 5 years terms for Dr Martin Jakobsson (Sweden) and Dr Robin Falconer (New Zealand). The IOC has appointed Dr Martin Jakobsson (Sweden) and Lieutenant Dr Karolina Zwolak (Poland) to fill these vacancies, appointments which take effect on completion of GGC35.
- 4. It should also be noted that two of the IHO Appointed Members are due to complete their 5 year terms in 2018. Both are eligible to serve a second 5 year term, if willing, available and recommended by the GGC to the IHO Secretary-General.
- 5. In addition to the above, the Secretary brings to the attention of the GGC that one IHO Appointed Member are due to complete a second 5 year term in 2019 and one IOC Appointed Member is due to complete a first 5 year term in 2019. The GGC may wish to consider what action to take in preparation for GGC36 in 2019.
- 6. The GGC is requested to:
 - a. **note** the information provided;
 - b. **inform** the IHO of the actions to be taken with respect to those GGC members whose terms are ending in 2018;
 - c. **consider** what action is required with respect to the members whose terms end in 2019; and
 - d. **take** any other action as deemed appropriate.

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC)

List of GGC members – 12 September 2018

1.	IHO Appointed Members:	Term Period:
	Mr Shin Tani (Japan) (<i>Chair</i>)	(2013-2018)
	Rear Admiral Patricio Carrasco (Chile)	(2013-2018)
	Dr Hyo Hyun Sung* (Republic of Korea)	(2014-2019)
	Dr Graham Allen (United Kingdom)	(2015-2020)
	Mr David Millar (USA)	(2018-2023)
2.	IOC Appointed Members:	
	Dr Martin Jakobsson (Sweden)* (<i>Vice-chair</i>)	(2013-2018)
	Dr Robin Falconer* (New Zealand)	(2013-2018)
	Dr Marzia Rovere (Italy)	(2014-2019)
	Dr Johnathan Kool (Australia)	(2016-2021)
	Captain Leonid Shalnov (Russian Federation)	(2016-2021)
	Dr Martin Jakobsson (Sweden) (Vice-chair)**	(2018-2023)
	Lieutenant Dr Karolina Zwolak (Poland)**	(2018-2023)

3. Ex-officio Members:

Dr Vicki Ferrini (USA) (Chair of SCRUM)

Dr Karen Marks (USA) (Chair of TSCOM)

Dr Hans-Werner Schenke (Germany) (Chair of SCUFN)

Ms Jennifer Jencks (USA) (Director of IHO-DCDB)

4. Secretary:

Mr David Wyatt (IHO) (2015)

NOTE: Members of the Secretariats of the IHO and IOC are permanent non-voting Members in the Committee.

^{*} Members serving a second 5-year term.

^{**}New IOC appointments to fill end of term vacancies, to take effect on completion of GGC35.