INTERNATIONAL HYDROGRAPHIC ORGANIZATION

4b, quai Antoine I^{er}
B.P. 445
MC 98011 MONACO CEDEX
PRINCIPAUTE DE MONACO



ORGANISATION HYDROGRAPHIQUE INTERNATIONALE

Tél.: +377 93 10 81 00 Fax: +377 93 10 81 40 Mél: <u>info@iho.int</u> Web: www.iho.int

NAUTICAL INFORMATION PROVISION WORKING GROUP

NIPWG Letter 6/2017

23 March 2017

ELECTION OF NIPWG OFFICERS

CALL FOR NOMINEES; ACTION ITEM NIPWG 3/28

References:

- A. NIPWG3 action item 3/28
- B. NIPWG Terms of Reference

Dear colleagues,

The election for the Chair and Vice-Chair of the NIPWG will be held at its 4th meeting at the UNH in Durham, New Hampshire, USA May 2017.

The basis of the election is the NIPWG Terms of Reference Section 3c) which states:

"The Chair and Vice-Chair shall be a representative of a MS. The election of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall be decided at the first meeting after each ordinary session of the Assembly and shall be determined by vote of the MS present and voting."

The first Assembly will have been held 24-28 April 2017. Thus, the May NIPWG4 meeting will be the "first meeting after each ordinary session of the Assembly."

Nominations

The names of candidates for the following positions may be submitted in advance via e-mail to the IHO, Mr. Yves Guillam at adcs@iho.int

- a. NIPWG Chair
- b. NIPWG Vice-Chair

Information for each nomination must include: 1. Name of Nominee; 2. E-mail address of Nominee; 3. Name of Nominee's Member State. 4. A brief outline of the professional background would be appreciated but must not necessarily be accompanied with the nomination.

Nominations from the floor may also be made at the 4th NIPWG meeting.

I am pleased to inform you that the current incumbents are ready to service the Working Group with an additional term of office:

Jens Schröder-Fürstenberg, GE, BSH (Chairman)

Dr Edward Hosken, UK, UKHO (Vice-Chairman)

Note: The Secretary is appointed in accordance with the ToR Section 3d. Tom Loeper from the U.S. NOAA has offered to continue to provide the continuation of his secretarial support.

Voting Procedure

Each Member State having a representative present at the 4th NIPWG meeting will be allowed to cast one vote for each position. Voting for the Chair will be conducted prior to voting for the Vice-Chair. Nominations for Vice-Chair will be held open until the election result for Chair is announced. Voting for positions for which a person is running unopposed will be conducted by a show of hands. Voting for positions for which more than one person is running will be conducted by secret ballot.

Results of Election

Ballots will be counted and the results will be announced by Yves Guillam or other person designated by him.

Those elected will take office at the conclusion of the 4th NIPWG meeting.

Jens Schröder-Fürstenberg, Chairman, NIPWG

glan blode The Men Say