Meeting 37 Agenda Item 8

GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Submitted by IHO Secretariat

SUMMARY

Executive Summary: This document provides an update on current membership of the

GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC), including current and

forthcoming vacancies.

Action to be taken: 6

Related documents: GGC ToRs and ROPs; GGC36/8/1 – Secretary Roles and

Responsibilities

- 1. The current list of GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) members is at Annex A.
- As a result of Dr Johnathan Kool (Australia) completing his 5-year term at GGC37 and his expressed wish not to undertake a second term, the IOC has been requested to take the necessary actions to fill the vacancy.
- 3. Due to the enforced absence of former Captain Leonid Shalnov (Russian Federation) for two consecutive meetings and in the knowledge that he will be unavailable to attend any future meetings, the GGC should request the IOC to take the necessary actions to fill this vacancy.
- 4. It should also be noted that the Secretary, as highlighted in GGC37/7/1, has completed his 5-year term.
- 5. In addition to the above, the Secretary brings to the attention of the GGC that four Appointed Members, two each from IHO and IOC, are due to complete an initial 5-year terms in 2023. The GGC may wish to consider what action to take in preparation for GGC38 in 2022.
- 6. The GGC is requested to:
 - **note** the information provided; a.
 - request the IOC informs the Chair of the actions taken with respect to the two b. vacancies in its appointed members;
 - **consider** what action is required with respect to the member whose term ends c. in 2023; and
 - d. take any other action as deemed appropriate.

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC)

List of GGC members – 31 December 2020

1.	IHO Appointed Members:	Term Period:
	Mr Shin Tani (Japan) (<i>Chair</i>)	(2018-2023)
	Mr David Millar (USA)	(2018-2023)
	Mr Evert Flier (Norway)	(2019-2024)
	Captain Rodrigo de Souza Obino (Brazil)	(2019-2024)
	Samuel Harper (UK)	(2020-2025)
2.	IOC Appointed Members:	
	Dr Marzia Rovere (Italy)*	(2019-2024)
	Dr Johnathan Kool (Australia)	(2016-2021)
	Dr Martin Jakobsson (Sweden) (Vice-chair)	(2018-2023)
	Lieutenant Dr Karolina Zwolak (Poland)	(2018-2023)
	Vacant	

3. Ex-officio Members:

Dr Vicki Ferrini (USA) (Chair of SCRUM)

Mr Thierry Schmitt (France) (Chair of TSCOM)

Mr Hyun-Chul Han (Republic of Korea) (Chair of SCUFN)

Dr Hyo Hyun Sung (Republic of Korea) (Chair of SCOPE)

Ms Jennifer Jencks (USA) (Director of IHO-DCDB)

4. Secretary:

Mr David Wyatt (IHO) (2015-2020)

NOTE: Members of the Secretariats of the IHO and IOC are permanent non-voting Members in the Committee.

^{*} Members serving a second 5-year term.