

EAHC Circular Letter No.14/2018 5 October 2018

See Distribution List

To All EAHC Members

## MESSAGE FROM NEW CHAIR OF THE EAHC

It is my pleasure to take over the position of the Chair of the East Asia Hydrographic Commission.

As everyone knows, the IHO Convention Amendments entered into force in 2016 and recently, user needs have become increasingly diversified and our activities are expanding in various fields. As a result, we have many topics to deal with, for example, data management by MSDI, contributions to e-Navigation based on S-100 and implementation of new technology including SDB and crowd-sourced bathymetry.

I believe that it is essential to enhance the regional connectivity in order to coordinate our challenges in EAHC. So, please do not hesitate to contact with EAHC Chair and I welcome any comments or suggestions at any time.

Finally, Japan would like to work together with EAHC members, observers and IHO Secretariat tightly to develop hydrographic activities in our region.

Yours sincerely,

Jukihiro Kato

Vice Admiral Yukihiro Kato Chair, East Asia Hydrographic Commission

## EAHC Distribution List

Mr. Awang Hj Ali Bakar bin Haji Kasim Surveyor General Survey Department Ministry of Development Bandar SeriBegawan BB3510 Brunei Darussalam

Mr. Xu Ruqing Director General Maritime Safety Administration 11 Jianguomennei Avenue BEIJING 100736 The People's Republic of China

Rear Admiral REE In Sop Director Hydrographic Department Sopo 2-Dong, Hyongjesan District PYONGYANG Democratic People's Republic of Korea

Rear Admiral Harjo Susmoro Chief Hydrographer Hydrography and Oceanography Centre (PUSHIDROSAL) Jalan Pantai Kuta V No. I JAKARTA 14430 Republic of Indonesia

Rear Admiral Hanafiah bin Hassan National Hydrographic Centre, Bandar Armada Putra, Pelabuhan Klang, 42009 Selangor, Malaysia

Commodore Jacinto M. Cablayan Director Hydrography Department National Mapping & Resource Information Authority 421 Barraca Street San Nicolas, Manila 1010 Republic of the Philippines

Mr. LEE Dong-jae Director General Korea Hydrographic and Oceanographic Agency #351 Haeyang-ro, Yeongdo-gu BUSAN 49111 Republic of Korea

Dr. Parry Oei Soe Ling Director (Port Services) Chief Hydrographer Port Services Division 7B Keppel Road #20-00 Tanjong Pagar Complex Singapore 089055 Vice Admiral Winai Maneeprag Director General Hydrographic Department Royal Thai Navy 222 Rimtangrodfaikhao Rd. Bangna, Bangkok 10260 Thailand

Vietnam Hydrographic Office Rear Admiral Pham Xuan Diep Chief Hydrographer Vietnam Hydrographic Office 38 Dien Bien Phu Street Hong Bang District Hai Phong City VIETNAM

Mr. Mak Sideth Deputy Director General Waterways Infrastructure and Port Ministry of Public Works and Transport St 598, Roeusey Keo District Phnom Penh Kingdom of Cambodia

Captain Jose Pinto Capitao de Inf Military Technical Cooperation Falintil Forca Defesa De Timor-Leste Dili, Timor Leste

Dr. Mathias Jonas Secretary-General International Hydrographic Organisation (IHO) 4b quai Antoine 1er B.P. 445 MC 98011 MONACO CEDEX

Admiral Tim Lowe The UK National Hydrographer Admiralty Way, Taunton, Somerset, TA I 2DN, United Kingdom

Mr. John E. Lowell Jr. National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency 7500 GEOINT Drive Springfield, Virginia 22150