4b, quai Antoine I^{er} B.P. 445 MC 98011 MONACO CEDEX PRINCIPALITY OF MONACO Tel.: +377 93 10 81 00 Fax: +377 93 10 81 40 e-mail: info@iho.int Web: www.iho.int

NAUTICAL INFORMATION PROVISION WORKING GROUP

NIPWG Letter 6/2020 Rev1

28 September 2020

ELECTION OF NIPWG OFFICE BEARERS

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

References:

A. NIPWG Terms of Reference

Dear colleagues,

The election for the Chair and Vice-Chair of the NIPWG will be held at its 8th meeting at the IHO Secretariat, Monaco in March 2021 (a virtual or hybrid meeting is under consideration taking into account the pandemic situation).

The basis of the election is the NIPWG Terms of Reference Section 3c) which states:

"The Chair and Vice-Chair shall be a representative of a MS. The election of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall be decided at the first meeting after each ordinary session of the Assembly and shall be determined by vote of the MS present and voting."

The 2nd Session of the Assembly will have been held 17-18 November 2020. Thus, the March NIPWG8 meeting will be the "first meeting after each ordinary session of the Assembly."

Nominations

The names of candidates for the following positions should be submitted in advance via e-mail to the IHO Secretariat, Mr. Yves Guillam at adcs@iho.int

- a. NIPWG Chair
- b. NIPWG Vice-Chair

Information for each nomination must include: 1. Name of Nominee; 2. E-mail address of Nominee; 3. Name of Nominee's Member State. 4. A brief outline of the professional background is appreciated but must not necessarily be accompanied with the nomination.

Nominations from the floor may also be made at the 8th NIPWG meeting.

Having been appointed BSH Head of Nautical Information Division 1st August 2020, I'm no longer able to continue the NIPWG Chair position.

I am pleased to inform you that one of the current incumbents is ready to service the Working Group with an additional term of office:

Stefan Engström (Finland) stands ready for an additional term. Whether he would volunteer as Chair or as Vice-Chair cannot be specified at this time.

Note: The Secretary is appointed in accordance with the ToR Section 3d. Tom Loeper from the U.S. NOAA has offered to continue to provide the continuation of his secretarial support.

Voting Procedure

Each Member State having a representative present at the 8th NIPWG meeting will be allowed to cast one vote for each position. Voting for the Chair will be conducted prior to voting for the Vice-Chair. Nominations for Vice-Chair will be held open until the election result for Chair is announced. Voting for positions for which a person is running unopposed will be conducted by a show of hands (or chat message sent to the IHO Secretariat's representative in the case of a VTC meeting). Voting for positions for which more than one person is running will be conducted by secret ballot (or chat message sent to the IHO Secretariat's representative only in the case of a VTC meeting).

Results of Election

Ballots (or e-votes) will be counted and the results will be announced by Yves Guillam or other person designated by him.

Those elected will take office at the conclusion of the 8th NIPWG meeting.

Best regards,

Jens Schröder-Fürstenberg, Chair, NIPWG

fen llode The Men Say