

4b, quai Antoine I^{er} B.P. 445 MC 98011 MONACO CEDEX PRINCIPALITY OF MONACO Tel. : +377 93 10 81 00 Fax : +377 93 10 81 40 e-mail : info@iho.int Web : www.iho.int

NAUTICAL INFORMATION PROVISION WORKING GROUP

NIPWG Letter 3/2024

04 October 2024

ELECTION OF NIPWG OFFICE BEARERS

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

Reference:

A. NIPWG Terms of Reference

Dear NIPWG Members,

At our last NIPWG-11 meeting in Gdynia, Poland, Mr Eivind Mong informed the group that he had to step down from his position as NIPWG Chair at the end of 2024, due to other national priorities.

Consequently, an election of NIPWG office bearers needs to be conducted by correspondence by the end of the year to ensure continuity.

The basis of the election is the NIPWG Terms of Reference Section 3c) which states: "*The Chair and Vice-Chair shall be a representative of a MS.*"

Nominations

The names of candidates for the following positions should be submitted via e-mail to the IHO Secretariat, Mr. Eric Langlois (adcs@iho.int), **no later than 31 October 2024**:

- a. NIPWG Chair
- b. NIPWG Vice-Chair

Information for each nomination must include: 1. Name of Nominee; 2. E-mail address of Nominee; 3. Name of Nominee's Member State. 4. A brief outline of the professional background is appreciated but must not necessarily be accompanied with the nomination.

In order to facilitate the process of the election, the IHO Secretariat is pleased to inform NIPWG Members that Mr Stefan Engström (Finland), who was elected as Vice-Chair at NIPWG-8 (2021), has already indicated his availability as a candidate for the NIPWG Chair position in the case there is no other volunteer to take the role.

Voting Procedure

Each IHO Member State having a representative formally registered in the NIPWG Membership List on the IHO Portal will be allowed to cast one vote for each position. In the case there are more than one national representative in the Membership List, Member States are invited to make their own arrangements to decide who will cast the vote. Voting for the Chair will be conducted prior to voting for the Vice-Chair. Nominations for Vice-Chair will be

held open until the election result for Chair is announced. Voting for positions for which a single person is running unopposed will be conducted by a chat message simply sent to the IHO Secretariat's representative. Voting for positions for which more than one person is running will be conducted by chat message sent to the IHO Secretariat's representative only.

Votes by correspondence are expected no later than 30 November 2024.

Results of Election

E-votes will be counted and the results will be announced by Mr Eric Langlois (IHO Secretariat) at the 3rd VTC meeting on 04 December 2024.

The Chair and Vice-Chair will take office on 1 January 2025.

Best regards,

For Mr Eivind Mong, NIPWG Chair, James Weston, NIPWG Secretary