

IHO File No. S3/2620

CIRCULAR LETTER 20/2024 Rev1 08 April 2024

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC) NEW IHO REPRESENTATIVE

References:

- A. IHO CL 45/2023 dated 20 December GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) Membership-Request for Nomination of an Expert to Fill Vacancy
- B. GGC Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedures

Dear Hydrographer,

- 1. Reference A informed Member States about the vacancy on the IHO-IOC GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) and requested nominations of experts to fill the IHO position. In response the IHO Secretariat received two nominations to fill the vacant IHO position on the GEBCO Guiding Committee. The two nominations were:
 - Mr. Ali KOUROSH NIYA (I.R. of Iran)
 - Mr. Hiroaki SAITO (Japan)
- 2. The IHO Secretariat is pleased to see the significant interest in the GEBCO Guiding Committee and expresses its gratitude to the Member States who all nominated suitably qualified candidates.
- 3. Following previous practice, the candidates' curricula vitae were reviewed thoroughly by the IHO Secretariat. In accordance with Reference B, relevant consultation has been undertaken with the GGC Chair. Taking into account the criteria for selection and relevant expertise, past and current contribution to ocean mapping activities, current roles and responsibilities in their national institutions and potential impact and input to the GEBCO project and geographical distribution of the current GGC members, the IHO Secretariat (Secretary-General and Directors) agreed on the selection of Mr. Hiroaki SAITO to fill the vacant IHO position on the GGC for the period 2024-2029.
- 4. Unless an objection is raised by a Member State, the appointment of Mr. Hiroaki SAITO be effective from **15 April 2024**. The new updated membership list of GGC, which is anticipated to be effective from **15 April 2024**, is provided in Annex.

On behalf of the Secretary-General, Yours sincerely,

> Luigi SINAPI Director

Copy to: The IOC Secretariat of the UNESCO

Chair, GEBCO Guiding Committee

Annex: List of ABLOS Members as of 15 April 2024

Tel: +377 93 10 81 00

Fax: +377 93 10 81 40

e-mail: info@iho.int

Web: www.iho.int

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC)

List of GGC members - 15 April 2024

1.	IHO Appointed Members: Period:	Term
	Mr Hiroaki Saito (Japan)	(2024-2029)
	Mr David Millar (USA)	(2018-2023)
	Mr Evert Flier (Norway) (<i>Chair</i>)	(2019-2024)
	Dr Geoffroy Lamarche (New Zealand)	(2021-2026)
	Ms Yerinelys Santos Barrera (Colombia)	(2022-2027)
2.	IOC Appointed Members:	
	Dr Marzia Rovere (Italy)* (<i>Vice-chair</i>)	(2019-2024)
	Dr Karolina Zwolak (Poland)	(2018-2023)
	Ms Kim Picard (Australia)	(2021-2026)
	Commander Prashant Srivastava (India)	(2021-2026)
	Mr Paul Brett (Canada)	(2022-2022)
3.	Ex-officio Members:	

Ex-officio Members:

Ms Aileen Bohan (Chair of SCRUM)
Mr George Spoelstra (Chair of TSCOM)
Mr Yasuhiko Ohara (Japan) (Chair of SCUFN)
Ms Sarah Grasty (USA) (Chair of SCOPE)
Ms Jennifer Jencks (USA) (Director of IHO-DCDB)

4. Secretary:

Mr Sam Harper (IHO) (2021-2026)

NOTE: Members of the Secretariats of the IHO and IOC are permanent non-voting Members in the Committee

^{*} Members serving a second 5-year term.