CH de l´Océan Indien septentrional

Northern Indian Ocean Hydrographic Commission (CHOIS)

President Vice Admiral NURHIDAYAT (Indonesia)
Vice-president Vice Admiral Chakkrit MALIKHAO (Thailand)
Members Bangladesh, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Myanmar, Pakistan, UK, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Saudi Arabia.
Associate members Australia, USA, France, Oman, Mauritius, Seychelles.
Observers Malaysia, Russian Federation, Sudan
IHO Representatives Director Dr John NYBERG
Assistant Director Sam HARPER


Brief history

The Northern Indian Ocean Hydrographic Commission (CHOIS) was established in 2002 as the 13th regional hydrographic commission. It consisted of Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand and the United Kingdom, with 3 associate member countries and 3 observer countries, and aimed to promote greater safety of navigation in the Indian Ocean region, through common standards and procedures. The CHOIS region covers the northern part of the Indian Ocean, from the Andaman Seas to the Gulf of Aden, excluding the Gulf of Oman area. Much of the world's maritime traffic passes through this area and, therefore, CHOIS has a vital role to play in ensuring the safety of mariners in this area.

The first meeting of CHOIS was held from January 31 to February 3, 2002 in Dehradun, India, under the chairmanship of CA KR Srinivasan, AVSM. The main objectives of the formation of CHOIS are mutual cooperation in the field of hydrography, establishment of regional coordination in ENC matters, carrying out joint hydrographic surveys in insufficiently surveyed areas and coordination hydrographic resources in the region.

Meeting documents

Only future, current and past meeting documents are listed on the left. All documents from previous meetings are available in the  IHO Document Archive section.

Member States map

Please see the IHO General Disclaimer for Base Map in the Hydrographic Geoinformation Services section. 



Choose a subject

Share this page:

Dernière modification: 05/03/2024 - 09:27