East Asia HC

Chair: Vice Admiral Budi Purwanto (Indonesia)
Vice-Chair: (China)
Members: Brunei Darussalam, China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Thailand
Observers: Australia, Cambodia, Timor Leste, UK, USA, Viet Nam, GEBCO Guiding Committee
IHO Secretary Representatives: Secretary General Dr. Mathias JONAS
Assistant Director Yong BAEK


Brief History 

The EAHC was established in Tokyo, Japan, on 12th April 1971on the occasion of Inauguration Meeting and First Conference of the East Asia Hydrographic Commission under the initiative of China, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Philippines, and Thailand. Its firsts Chairperson was Dr Kiyoshi KAWAKAMI . The first activities conducted were the formulation of the EAHC Statutes; sharing of hydrographic activities by Member States; establishment of the NAVAREA XI Warning Service and promoting hydrographic technical assistance in the region. Main achievements since were the publication of the South China Sea Electronic Navigational Charts in 2005 and the establishment of an ENC Task Group in 2006 to facilitate ENC consistency and coverage of the region.


Original: Tokyo, Japan, 14 April 1971
Amendments: (1) by correspondence from the decision made at the Informal Meeting, Jakarta, Indonesia, 4 November 1976 (2) Seoul, Republic of Korea, 5 September 1980


Meeting Documents

Only documents for upcoming, current and previous years meetings are listed left. All earlier meeting documents are available from the IHO Document Archive.

Member States map

Please see the disclaimer in the Hydrographic Geoinformation Services

Choose a subject

Share this page:

Last modified: 20/02/2024 - 11:22