North Sea HC

Chair: RAdm Angus Essenhigh (UK)
Vice-Chair:  Mr Thomas Dehling (GER)
Members Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom.
IHO Secretariat Representatives: Director Dr John NYBERG
Assistant Director Mr Sam HARPER


Brief history:

The North Sea Hydrographic Commission was established in The Hague, The Netherlands on 10 January 1962, at the initiative of Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, The Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and the United Kingdom. The first meeting was chaired by The Netherlands. Later France, Belgium, Iceland and, more recently, Ireland joined the Commission. The Commission´s first activities included agreeing on the publication of fisheries charts and the need for surveys outside territorial waters.


Original: The Hague, 10 January 1963
Amended: (1) Stockholm, 7 September 1963; (2) London, 29 January 1965; (3) Härnösand, 13 September 1973; (4) London, 25 April 1975; (5) Oslo, 2 June 1981; (6) Stavanger, September 1994; (7) Brest, September 2010; and (8) Dublin, June 2016.

Meeting Documents

Only documents for upcoming, current and previous years meetings are listed left. All earlier meeting documents are available from the IHO Document Archive.

Member States map

Please see the disclaimer in the Hydrographic Geoinformation Services

Choose a subject

Share this page:

Last modified: 01/05/2024 - 11:43