Eastern Atlantic HC

Chair: Captain Mostafa TAFRHY (Morocco)
Vice-Chair:  Captain Salvador ESPINOSA Gonzalez-Llanos (Spain)
Members: Angola, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Democratic Republic of the Congo, France, Ghana, Morocco, Nigeria, Portugal, Spain.
Associate Members: Benin, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritania, Senegal, Togo, United Kingdom.
Observers: Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, IALA, Liberia, São Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, USA.
IHO Secretary Representatives: Director Dr John NYBERG
Assistant Director Yves GUILLAM


Brief History 

The idea to set up the Eastern Atlantic Hydrographic Commission (EAtHC) was initiated by Portugal and agreed by the Hydrographers of France, Portugal and Spain during the 12th International Hydrographic Conference (20-30 April 1982). A preliminary meeting was held in Lisboa, Portugal, on 5 and 6 December 1983, with representatives from France, Nigeria, Portugal, Spain,Cape Verde and the IHB, to draft the statutes of the Commission. The Commission was formally established on 26 November 1984 once the statutes had been signed by all four IHO Member States in the Region (France, Nigeria, Portugal and Spain). The first EAtHC Conference took place in Paris, France, on 15 to 17 April 1986. From the start, the Commission strived to encourage the participation of the many non IHO Member States in the Region. Main achievements are: monitoring and improving the status of nautical information, surveys, and charting, developing and implementing INT chart and ENC schemes, raising the awareness of the importance of hydrography in the Region and promoting capacity building.


Original: Lisboa, Portugal, 6 December 1983
Amendments: (1) Dakar, Senegal, 8 December 2006

Meeting Documents

Only documents for upcoming, current and previous years meetings are listed left. All earlier meeting documents are available from the IHO Document Archive.

Member States map

Please see the disclaimer in the Hydrographic Geoinformation Services

Choose a subject

Share this page:

Last modified: 07/05/2024 - 14:59