South-West Pacific HC

Chair: Ms Hilary Thompson (Australia)
Vice-Chair: LCDR Jervis M. Robinson (Fiji)
Members: Australia, Fiji, France, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, UK, USA, Vanuatu.
Associate Members: Cook Islands, Indonesia, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau.
Intergovernmental Observer Organization: Pacific Community (SPC)
Observers: New Caledonia.
IHO Secretary Representatives: Director John NYBERG
Assistant Director Leonel MANTEIGAS


Brief History 

The idea to set up the South West Pacific Hydrographic Commission (SWPHC) was originally formulated in 1981 by Captain P. Barton (RN), Chief Hydrographer of Fiji. The Commission was established some years later, with its inaugural meeting in Sydney (Australia) on 19 and 20 October 1993. The first Chairman was Commodore (RAN) John W. Leech (Australia). The first activities were aimed at establishing the status of surveys in the region and progressing the adoption of medium and large scale INT chart schemes. Main achievements are: the development and implementation of INT chart schemes and ENC coverage, capacity building in island States, and raising the awareness of the importance of hydrography in the region. Special emphasis has been laid on liaising with other regional maritime organizations.

Meeting Documents

Only documents for upcoming, current and previous years meetings are listed left. All earlier meeting documents are available from the IHO Document Archive.

Member States map

Please see the disclaimer in the Hydrographic Geoinformation Services

Choose a subject

Share this page:

Last modified: 04/09/2023 - 08:40