Meso American & Caribbean Sea HC

Chair: RAdm Angus ESSENHIGH (UK)
Vice-Chair: Suriname
Members: Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, France, Guatemala, Guyana, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, United States of America, Venezuela.
Associate Members: Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Grenada, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines.
Observers: Dominica, Spain.
Contributing Organizations: AMEXCID, Caribe EWS, CLIA, COCATRAM, IALA, IC-ENC, IMarEST, IMO, INEGI, IOCARIBE, INVEMAR, Marine Conservation, OECS, THSOA, University of West Indies.
IHO Secretariat Representatives: Director Luigi SINAPI
Assistant Director Leonel MANTEIGAS


Brief History 
The MACHC was originally established as the Caribbean Sea-Gulf of Mexico Hydrographic Commission (CGMHC) in Havana, Cuba, on 25-27 May 1994 on the occasion of its first meeting at the initiative of Cuba, The Netherlands, United States of America, Guyana and Mexico. Its first Chairman was Captain Juan Fung Riverón, President of the Cuban Hydrographic Institute. The original Commission expanded in 2002 to include the Pacific waters of Mexico, the Central American Members and Colombia and was renamed as MACHC. In 2005 the Commission further expanded to include the Western Atlantic waters and Brazil became a member. The principal Committee and Working Groups and priority activities of the Commission can be found here on the MACHC Initiative Website at:

Meeting Documents

Only documents for upcoming, current and previous years meetings are listed left. All earlier meeting documents are available from the IHO Document Archive.

Member States map

Please see the disclaimer in the Hydrographic Geoinformation Services

Choose a subject

Share this page:

Last modified: 24/07/2023 - 15:14